Chambers were founded in 1950 by Lord Hooson QC and originally located at 39 Whitefriars, Chester. In 1972 chambers moved to Sedan House, with its distinctive Sedan porch. In 2006 chambers moved to 1 Stanley Place, another Georgian Grade II listed building.

From 2005 to 2006 the building underwent substantial renovation under the guiding hand of our estates manager, Peter Moss. Many of the original features have been restored to their Georgian grandeur. We have also been able to introduce all the IT and other services which a modern office requires. The project is a 1 million investment, which is some measure of our confidence in the future strength of chambers.

Membership has risen gradually but inexorably over the decades. In that time, some members have become Queens Counsel and a number of members have gone on from successful careers at the Bar to distinguished service on the bench.

Several local circuit judges and former judges in North Wales and Cheshire have been members of chambers.

Former judges include:

The late Judge DT Lloyd Jones
His Honour Eifion Roberts QC
His Honour Alan Phillips
His Honour Huw Daniel
The late Judge Jane Hayward

Currently serving judges who have been members of chambers are:

The Recorder of Chester His Honour Judge Elgan Edwards DL
His Honour Judge Derek Halbert
His Honour Judge Michael Farmer QC
District Judge Geoffrey Little
His Honour Judge Steven Everett



T: 01244 348282 F: 01244 342336 DX: 19984